PCA Florida Crown Concours 2024 at the Brumos Collection

Weather and Indy 500 Winner Make Spring Concours a Winner

Chris Hoyt, Concours Chairman


Florida Crown Region’s Spring Concours at The Brumos Collection was blessed with cool but clear spring weather along with a few celebrities, and pre-registration ensured that the event filled up within days of the Aril 6 date. The weather shared center stage with 3-time CART Champion and 1986 Indy 500 Winner Bobby Rahal, now a resident of Ponte Vedra Beach, who brought his signal orange Carrera GT. This writer had never seen that model PORSCHE in that color, and it was a real showstopper. Endurance champion extraordinaire Hurley Haywood, also a Ponte Vedra resident, came with his emerald green Rod Emery 356 outlaw convertible, and it had to be a chilly ride from the beach for Haywood. The Brumos Collection’s spring celebration has become a popular annual event and was very well attended with nearly 700 tickets sold. Besides entry to this great collection, the crowd was treated to a variety of vendors showing their wares


One new addition for this year’s event was FCR’s High Performance Driver Education (HPDE) booth manned by Jim Burnett. Driver education events are a must-do for first-time PORSCHE owners as well as those owners who want to safely drive their cars on the track. We use Roebling Road Raceway outside of Savannah, Georgia, and it’s well-suited for HPDE. A quick look at the sign-up sheet showed that there’s a lot of interest among the region. Consider signing up for one when dates are announced.


The Cayman and Boxster classes were especially competitive this year, but judges Ken Perry, John Trainer, and Gerry Kennedy were up to the challenge. Kudos to Gerry for driving up from Ormond Beach to help! Special thanks go to FCR members Bob Barren, Ed Lustgarten, and Hans-Dieter Mandt for all of their help throughout the day. Their contributions ensured that the event ran smoothly. Last but not least, a BIG THANKS goes to the team at The Brumos Collection – Brandon Starks, Toni Boudreaux-Godwin, and founder Dan Davis. This collection is a must-see for anyone who appreciates fine automobiles displayed in a world class setting.


Congratulations to this year’s winners!


1st – William Cooper            1960 356B Roadster


1st – Ross Bremer                1970 914-6 GT

2nd – Dean Kantis                 1973 914

911 Air Cooled

1st – John Heffron                 1984 Carrera

2nd – Steve Palmer              1996 993

3rd – Ken Aung Din              1979 911SC


911 Turbo

1st – Jeff Hathorn                  2010 996 Turbo

2nd – Kim Thorpe                  2004 996 Turbo

3rd – Mitch Weller                 2021 992 Turbo


1st – Chris Gates                  1985-1/2 944


1st – Eric Bondoc                  2000 996

2nd – Eric DePetris               2008 997

3rd – Keith Staton                 1999 996


1st – John Ekdahl                 2017 Targa 4S

2nd – Michael Zervos           2019 991 T

3rd – Keith Moore                  2019 Carrera 4 GTS


1st – Eric Griffith                    2016 Boxster Spyder

2nd – Mathew Masi               2015 Boxster

3rd – Bert Harris                    2011 Boxster Spyder


1st – Norman Seals              2006 Cayman S

2nd – Jesus Caracoza          2021 Cayman GT4

3rd – Milton Corson              2024 Cayman


1st – Gary Pincus                 2020 Macan S

2nd – Mark Hutto                   2023 Panamera 4S e-Hybrid


1st – Lee Jones                     1996 993 RS

2nd – Bob Amar                     2018 GT3

3rd – Thomas Schneider     2023 GT3

Visit www.pcafcr.org for more information on upcoming Florida Crown Region events.

Posted in , ,